THE ICC CRICKET WORLD CUP 2019 – Australia is the most successful team in the history

  • The 12th ICC Cricket  World Cup  tournament will run from 30 May to 14 July. The semi-finals will be played at Old Trafford in Manchester and Edgbaston in Birmingham on 9 and 11 July respectively, while Lord’s will host the final on 14 July.
  • 11 venues across England and Wales will be used, namely Cardiff Wales Stadium in Cardiff (four matches), Bristol County Ground in Bristol (three matches), County Ground Taunton in Taunton (three matches), Edgbaston in Birmingham (five matches, including the second semi-final), Hampshire Bowl in Southampton (five matches), Headingley in Leeds (four matches), Lord’s in London (five matches, including the final), Old Trafford in Manchester (six matches, including the first semi-final), The Oval in London (five matches, including the tournament opener), The Riverside Durham in Chester-le-Street (three matches) and Trent Bridge in Nottingham (five matches)
  • The 10 teams in the tournament will play against each other in a single-league format, with the top four sides after 45 matches to qualify for the two semi-finals
  • England and Wales have previously staged ICC Cricket World Cups in 1975, 1979, 1983 and 1999
  • Australia is the most successful team in the history of the World Cup, having won events in 1987, 1999, 2003, 2007 and 2015. The West Indies won the first two editions in 1975 and 1979, while India won in 1983 and 2011. Other winners are Pakistan in 1992 and Sri Lanka in 1996

Match Schedule of  the ICC Cricket World Cup – 2019

Date               Match             Venue                        Starting (SL time)

Thu 30/5        ENG-SA         London                      3.00 PM. (Day)

Fri 31/5           PAK-WI          Nottingham             3.00 PM. (Day)

Sat 1/6            NZ-SL            Cardiff                             3.00 PM. (Day)

Sat 1/6            AFG-AUS      Bristol                    6.00 PM. (D/N)

Sun 2/6          BDS-SA         London                       3.00 PM. (Day)

Mon 3/6          ENG-PAK      Nottingham               3.00 PM. (Day)

Tue 4/6           AFG-SL          Cardiff                             3.00 PM. (Day)

Wed 5/6         IND-SA          Southampton              3.00 PM (Day)

Wed 5/6         BDS-NZ         London                      6.00 PM. (D/N)

Thu 6/6          AUS-WI          Nottingham               3.00 PM. (Day)

Fri 7/6             PAK-SL          Bristol                         3.00 PM. (Day)

Sat 8/6            ENG-BDS      Cardiff                           3.00 PM. (Day)

Sat 8/6            AFG-NZ         Taunton                     6.00 PM.(D/N)

Sun 9/6          AUS-IND       London                      3.00 PM. (Day)

Mon10/6        SA-WI             Southampton            3.00 PM. (Day)

Tue 11/6        BDS-SL         Bristol                          3.00 PM. (Day)

Wed 12/6       AUS-PAK      Taunton                     3.00 PM. (Day)

Thu 13/6        IND-NZ          Nottingham               3.00 PM. (Day)

Fri 14/6           ENG-WI         Southampton             3.00 PM.(Day)

Sat 15/6         AUS-SL         London                      3.00 PM. (Day)

Sat 15/6         AFG-SA         Cardiff                             6.00 PM. (D/N)

Sun 16/6        IND-PAK        Manchester               3.00 PM. (Day)

Mon17/6        BDS-WI          Taunton                     3.00 PM. (Day)

Tue 18/6        AFG-ENG      Manchester               3.00 PM. (Day)

Wed19/6        NZ-SA            Birmingham              3.00 PM. (Day)

More to follow………….

  • Sirinama Rajapakse

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *